Ipad sketches

I know I have mentioned this before, but just as I find sketching pencil on paper liberating, so I find “painting” on the ipad gives me a sense of freedom, I don’t have to worry about the colours going muddy, so I can quickly carry out my prelimary drawings and attempts at colour combinations, without losing that initial sense of creativity. The resulting works provide me with a bank of archives that I can dip into when I have time to actually paint real paint on to a canvas.

Here are a few ipad paintings ready and waiting for a chance to be plucked from the archives and turned into paintings of the traditional kind. If I were David Hockney of course, I would have them printed out by digital inkjet; however my guess is that you have to be well-known first in order to exhibit and sell ipad prints…….well……..I’m working on that one!  A couple of these are accompanied by short haiku or tanka poems, a bit of fanciful playing on my part.

A quote from Hockney: “People from the village come up and tease me: ‘We hear you’ve started drawing on your telephone,’” ….“And I tell them, ‘Well, no, actually, it’s just that occasionally I speak on my sketch pad.’”

megtext

Nightime

lucytext

Daytime

jack patterns

Jack amongst the cushions

petercouch

No-one’s safe when I around,  ipad at the ready!

megcopy

Just Meggie

IMG_6249

Meggie in her bed

jackalone

Just Jack

IMG_6254

Lucy in the glow of light

IMG_4473

Loungers in the sun

IMG_4673

Teddy and Golly

IMG_4834

Rose at the window

IMG_6245

Garden at Homps

IMG_4574

View from our office

 

6 thoughts on “Ipad sketches

    • Perhaps I’m still living in the past, we get stuck in our preconceptions of what art really is don’t we? Is it the image itself ? And not necessarily the execution thereof? I will investigate the printing process on interesting papers, after all if Hockney can, so can I! Hmm, maybe if I get a better printer…….or perhaps into the realm of screen printing, as a friend of mine is doing.
      Lots to contemplate!

Leave a Reply

